What kind of sanctions or punishment will I receive if I enter a no contest plea or guilty plea to a first-time DUI?
You’ve got so many questions. We’ll give you answers.
Q: What kind of sanctions or punishment will I receive if I enter a no contest plea or guilty plea to a first-time DUI?
Florida law requires mandatory minimum sanctions for a first-time DUI, which include an Adjudication of Guilt, i.e. conviction for DUI and a mandatory term of probation for a year. The first-time DUI defendant must pay a fine in the amount of at least $500 but up to $1000, in addition to court costs. The defendant must complete 50 hours of community service, impound or immobilize of your vehicle for 10 days (the judge may waive this requirement under certain circumstances). The defendant is required to complete the state-approved DUI School, alcohol and drug evaluation, as well as any recommended treatment. The defendant’s driver’s license will be suspended at least 6 months but can be suspended for up to 12 months.
Under certain circumstances, when a defendant’s blood or breath sample is at 0.15 or higher, the judge may impose additional sanctions. These include a higher fine of $1000 to $2000. Also, the judge may order a mandatory placement of an ignition interlock device onto the defendant’s vehicle by the department of motor vehicles.
Incarceration in country jail is not mandatory on a first-time DUI but the judge has discretion to impose incarceration for up to 180 days but depending on the facts.
Contact an experienced Florida DUI attorney to determine how these Florida statutes apply to the unique circumstances of your case.