How does Florida’s new PIP law differ from the old PIP law?

You’ve got so many questions. We’ll give you answers.

 

Q:
How does Florida’s new PIP law differ from the old PIP law?

A:
Previously, the no fault insurer was required to pay 80% of medical bills, 60% of lost wages and 100% of replacement services of any person injured in an auto accident, up to $10,000 less any deductible. Now, under the new Florida no fault law, the $10,000 only applies if there has been a determination of emergency medical treatment.  If there is a determination  of a non-emergency medical condition, the cap of PIP benefits is only up to $2,500.  Another difference in the new law is that PIP coverage no longer includes acupuncture and massage therapy related to personal injury.

Posted about in our FAQs section.